compassion, healing, recovery, truth, wellness

There is Hope

As some of you now know, I have just “come out” of the eating disorders closet. Maybe you’ve read my previous posts, maybe not, but yesterday I was featured on the Green Recovery portion of ChoosingRaw (I also did a post on StopChasingSkinny a month or so ago). These posts have helped me put myself out there in the vegan community, and I was overwhelmed with the positive and supportive messages I received in response. Everyone comes to veganism for their own reason, but I’ve now encountered quite a few amazing individuals (via social media, mostly) that have found themselves on a path to recovery from disordered eating after discovering veganism.

I just want to be clear: I am still in recovery, and I still have some very difficult days. I even struggled with whether or not to write these stories. After all, I am beginning my Master’s in Social Work: What will my fellow students, potential employers, professors, etc. think of me if they find this? Does this make me a less credible social worker? I don’t know what they think, but I know what I feel, and it’s that we all have our personal stories and histories. I am not ashamed. 

I personally believe are better helpers if we have some sense of what it’s like to struggle. It’s when we let our internal demons get in the way of listening to and supporting others that we are less able to achieve our goals, be they academic, professional, or, for those of us in the AR/veg community, activist based. That is the very reason I came forward, and I feel empowered in this choice.

While coming forward online (my name is attached to my blog, Facebook and Twitter accounts) makes me vulnerable in a sense, it also means I must be prepared for discussions with those who might not want to talk about these topics. Mental illness (just look at what we call it-an illness) is still not very easy to discuss in our society, and the stigma attached to receiving help is strong. I hope to break down part of that stigma, both in my personal and professional life.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I have hope that someday I will fully recover, and it will be my commitment to advocacy, my dedication to veganism and animal rights, my ability to nurture myself with whole, healthful foods, and my continued search for internal peace that will enable me to stay strong when it is so easy to fall back into the disorder’s cage.

I am so blessed to have a husband, family, friends and now an online community that support and understand me and my struggles, and I welcome you to share your stories. There is hope for a better future.

Choosing Raw
Stop Chasing Skinny
Something Fishy Eating Disorder resource clearinghouse
National Eating Disorders Association NEDA-another clearinghouse and advocacy center

Standard

2 thoughts on “There is Hope

  1. Even though I'm sure it was evident to most people, I officially “came out” about my OCD/depression/ED about 1 1/2 years ago on my blog. I had kept my blog out of my “real” life up until that point, but I was asked to participate in a charity calendar and wanted everyone I knew to donate and support the cause. I realized that I didn't want to hide who I was anymore, and to be honest, it was the BEST thing I ever did. Ever. This is me-a work in progress-so why hide it?

    It's not easy to make yourself vulnerable, especially seeing that there's such a stigma that can be attached to mental health issues, but I couldn't believe how supportive everyone was and still is to this day. I'm far from recovered, but knowing that I always have that support from friends, family and the most unusual people/places is incredible.

    That's very brave to share your story, and I hope you find your experience is similar to mine. When you open up, you open up to new relationships and new experiences and everyone is better for it 😉

  2. Thank you so much for your perspective, Abby. I hope my experience with 'coming out' as in recovery will be similar- it has been a positive one so far, and you are right in that opening ourselves up can be a major part of the healing process.

    Take care,
    M

Leave a comment